BACK IN TIME: Redistricting in 1962: Ky. congressional districts shrink to 7

-A A +A

50 years ago
March 22, 1962


Gov. Bert Combs has signed into law the congressional redistricting bill approved by both houses of the Kentucky General Assembly.
The measure reduces from eight to seven the number of congressional districts in Kentucky. This was necessary because Kentucky’s population during the past decade has not increased at a rate as high as the nation’s. The reduction in districts was achieved mostly by combining parts of the old Fourth, which includes Spencer, and Fifth districts into a new Fourth. A friendly suit has been filed in Franklin Circuit Court by Sixth District Congressman John Watts, Nicholasville, to test legality of the new act.
The new Fourth District contains these counties: Anderson, Boone, Bullitt, Campbell, Carroll, Gallatin, Green, Hardin, Kenton, LaRue, Marion, Mercer, Nelson, Oldham, Shelby, Spencer, Taylor, Trimble and Washington. All of these counties are drawn either from the present Fourth or the present Fifth districts. In general, the present Fourth and Fifth districts were combined into a new Fourth District. In other districts, counties have been added or subtracted. The Third District, Jefferson County, was untouched.

A new slate of officers has been elected by the Taylorsville Rotary Club.
Charles Spears is the new president; Dr. W. K. Skaggs, vice president; Glen Goebel, secretary; and Jack Spears, sergeant-at-arms. Cliffton Bodine was re-elected treasurer of the organization.
Mr. Spears, vice president last year, succeeds Richard Van Dyke, and Mr. Goebel succeeds  Paul Grossman as secretary. The new officers will be installed next July.
New directors elected are F. L. Edmiston and Claude Brock.

March 29, 1962

A subscription to The Spencer Magnet cost $2.50 for Spencer and surrounding counties.
Advertising rates called for a minimum of 75 cents.

Thirteen students earned honors during the 4-H Rally Day.
Those students were:
Nancy L. Dadisman, junior speech; Sandy Stevens, junior bread; Sue Duval, junior dairy foods; Kitty Slucher, senior bread; Deanna McClain, senior speech; Brenda Spurr, junior sewing; Mary Michael Brown, junior generals; Helen Lilly, senior generals; and demonstration winners, Weldon Baird, Tommy Mason, Charles Pruitt, Michael Jones and William Palmer.

Gus Heady, 58.

40 years ago
March 23, 1972

Winners in the Spencer County Extension Service Speech Event were: Debbie Yount, Michelle Johnson, Tami Crowe, Sharon Adkins, Shirley Thomas, Freida Stinnett, Barry Bentley, Wendell Bentley, Keith Martin, Raymond Snider Jr., Scott Herndon and Brent Smith.

30 years ago
March 25, 1982

Virginia Lynn “Sunny” Day was named the career girl by the Spencer County Business and Professional Women’s Club.
Day is a 1969 graduate of Taylorsville High School.

20 years ago
March 25, 1992

The Spencer County Fiscal Court has approved a committee’s recommendation to combine two of its magisterial districts into one, cutting the number of magistrates from six to five. The court voted Monday to approve the recommendation of the reapportionment committee which was set up to redraw the district lines according to 1990 census figures.
The ordinance combined the Little Mount and Mount Eden districts, adding approximately 155 residents to the Taylorsville district. Approximately 76 residents will then be included into the Campbranch district.
Total populations of the districts after the redrawing of the boundaries will be Campbranch, 1,386; Little Mount-Mount Eden. 1,385; Waterford, 1,365; Taylorsville, 1,340; and Elk Creek, 1,322.
The court also agreed to meet with the Taylorsville City Commission to discuss a possible merger with the U.S. 60 Shelby-Franklin County Water District in the Mount Eden area of the county.

The movies “White Men Can’t Jump” and “JFK” were playing at Bardstown Cinemas.

Downtown Taylorsville may get a more “old-timey” look if the installation of eight new colonial-style light poles along Main Street can be worked out.
The City Commission will discuss the idea with Kentucky Utilities representatives at a special-called meeting after granting preliminary approval for the project at their meeting.
The eight light poles would replace the four existing light poles but produce the same or greater amount of light, according to downtown property owner Joe Bowen.
Three of the four existing light poles are located on the north side of Main while the new poles would be equally spaced out along both sides of the street, he said.
Additional poles further along the east end of the street could be installed later, he said. Cost of the installation was estimated at $6,000, Bowen said.
KU would handle removal of the existing poles without cost to the city, he said.
The new poles - 9,500 lumen high-pressure sodium lights - would cost the city approximately $61 a month compared to $34 a month for the existing lights, he said.

Joseph E. Gaines, 67; Edythe Wood Cull Mobley, 76; Martha Louise Robinson, 78; Gilbert Casey, 89; and Eugenia Gordon, 72.

10 years ago
March 27, 2002

What connection does Taylorsville have to rap? Well, not a very strong one, but what it does have is a connection to six members of a rap group that calls itself Nappy Roots. With four of the group’s six members coming from Louisville — Skinny, Clutch, B. Stille and R. Profit, one from Bowling Green — Big V, and the other from Milledgeville. Ga. — Scales, all of the band’s members have a tendency to identify with the South’s more simple-side to life.
At least that’s what the band members say.
So why would a group, even with its connections to small-town life, want to shoot a rap video in Taylorsville? The answer is simple. One of Nappy Roots’ members, Clutch, who is now in his early 20s, used to spend summers in Taylorsville with his grandfather Bobby Jacobs. Now that Clutch is all grown up and even has his own rap group, he says he remembers the places in his life that made a difference - and one of those places Taylorsville.

Christopher M. James, son of Joni Cox of Taylorsville and David James, recently enlisted in the U.S. Army’s Delayed Entry Program and reported for duty on March 21.
The 1999 Jefferson County High School graduate, who previously served in the Army Reserves. will be assigned to Fort Hood, Texas, as a telecommunications operator- maintainer. He has volunteered for a three-year tour of duty.

Bennie F. Bolin Sr., 90; Lorena C. Hunter, 89; Brenda Sue Chesser Martin, 47; James W. Moran, 63; Charles E. “Jack” Polk, 74.