Elusive election

-A A +A

City commission, board of ed candidates have just 13 more filing days

By Shannon Brock

Thirteen days — that’s how long candidates for city commission and other nonpartisan offices have to file their intent to run in the Spencer County Clerk’s office.
As of Monday afternoon, no one had filed to run for any of the nonpartisan offices, including city commissioners, the Spencer County Board of Education and the Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisors.
The deadline to file for each of those offices is Tuesday, Aug. 14, by 4 p.m.
All four city commissioner seats are up this fall. Candidates must be residents of the city of Taylorsville. All who file vie for a seat on the commission and the top four vote-getters will serve a two-year term.
Current commissioners are Beverly Ingram, Kathy Spears, Larry Waldridge and Nathan Nation.
Again, as of Monday, none had filed for re-election or publicly declared his or her intent to run or sit out this fall.
Mayoral elections are held every four years, so Mayor Don Pay has two years remaining in his current term.
Three seats are up for election this year on the Spencer County Board of Education.
Board of Education districts align with the county’s magisterial districts, so District 2-Waterford, District 3-Elk Creek and District 4-Campbranch are on the ballot this fall.
Mary Ann Carden is the current board member in District 2 and has served since 2001.
Shannon Medley is the current board member in District 3 and has served since 2009.
Scott Travis is the current board member in District 4 and has served since 2009.
The remaining board seats, currently held by Board Chair Jeanie Stevens, from District 1-Taylorsville, and Sandy Clevenger, from District 5-Little Mount/Mount Eden, will be up for election in 2014.
Four Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor seats are also on the ballot in November.
Although no candidates have filed, County Clerk Lynn Hesselbrock said Monday she has fielded several calls requesting information on the filing deadline.
Parties interested in filing for any of the offices can contact the Spencer County Clerk’s Office at 477-3215 or visit the office, located in the court house, at 2 W. Main St. to file for office.