Fiscal Court gives final approval to 2014-2015 budget

-A A +A
By William Carroll

The Spencer County Fiscal Court gave final approval for the 2014-2015 fiscal year budget with very little fanfare by a vote of five to one. The lone no vote being Magistrate Mike Moody, who has opposed the budget from the start.
Previous meetings had seen several of the magistrates questioning various aspects of the budget including a meeting labeled “illegal” by Spencer County Judge Executive Bill Karrer. The second reading however went fairly quickly, with no discussion on the terms of the budget.
Prior to a vote on the budget, Spencer County citizen and former magisterial candidate Arnie Mueller suggested that the fiscal court publish particulars of the budget for the citizens to see. Mueller said that during his campaign he spoke with a number of citizens who felt that they were not made fully aware of what the local government is doing.
Magistrates also approved a 1.5 percent cost of living increase for employees and a first reading of an ordinance that would amend the county’s administrative code to change Recycling Center Supervisor Karen Spencer’s job title. The current code requires Spencer to report to the superintendent of buildings, grounds and other properties. The amendment would make Spencer a department head over the Spencer County Recycling Center and would remove the requirement that she answer to the superintendent. Magistrate Jerry Davis suggested the change after reviewing the code and Spencer’s work for the recycling center. As part of the job title change, Davis also made a motion to increase Spencer’s salary from $12.50 an hour to $14.76 per hour. Both the first reading on the ordinance and the salary increase were approved by a five to one vote with Karrer providing the lone no vote.
The court also approved by a similar five to one vote the Kentucky State Police 911/dispatch services contract. The court had previously voted to approve the contract contingent upon the city of Taylorsville providing $12,000 to cover the county’s shortfall in landline revenue used to pay for the contract. During a recent Taylorsville City Commission meeting commissioners voted for a slightly different plan, which would require the city to contribute $4,000 of the $12,000 shortfall with the Taylorsville Spencer County Fire District providing $4,000 and the fiscal court chipping in an additional $4,000.
The fiscal court approved paying the additional $4,000 by a vote of five to one with Karrer again casting the lone no vote.
In other matters before the court:
• The court unanimously approved paying in full three separate insurance premiums for the county all lines fund, the zoning commission’s all lines fund and for workers compensation. The court voted to pay the premiums in full in order to save one percent on the overall price of a monthly payment plan.
County all lines fund original $115,035, reduced to $113,884.65.
Zoning commission all lines fund original $7,000, reduced to $6,930.
Workers compensation original $110,020, reduced to $108,919.80.
• The court accepted sealed bids for 2014/2015 material purchases and voted to rebid for bulk fuel purchases and AE-90 as the county received no bids for those contracts.
• The court voted to approve the expenditure of $12,800 for vehicle install packages and truck accessories for the two new vehicles acquired by the sheriff’s office this year.
• The magistrates also unanimously approved a $7,840 bid from Air Joy for the repair and replacement of an air conditioning compressor at the courthouse. According to Karrer, the courthouse runs on a dual compressor air conditioning system and one of the compressors recently shorted out.
• Magistrates also approved repair to a window at the Property Valuation Administration office in the amount of $414.43 based upon a bid from Glass Doctor.
• Flex program funds were approved to be spent on seven road paving projects throughout the county for a total cost of $153,396. The seven roads to be repaved in part include: Hoagland Hill Road, Wooded Creek Court, Triple D Drive, Yoder Station Road, Crenshaw Lane, Cooper Lane and Murphy Lane.