Governor’s Scholars selects three from SCHS

-A A +A
By The Staff

The Governor’s Scholars Program of Kentucky has announced that three Spencer County High School students have been selected to participate in their prestigious summer program this year.  The selected students are Taylor Carden, daughter of Jeff and Mary Ann Carden, Kevin Herndon, son of  Carol and Doug Herndon and Alex Poole, daughter of Lisa and Ronald Poole.  These students were, first of all, nominated by SCHS after a very competitive process at that level.  Their applications were then sent on and used to compete with other top students from across the state. 

The Governor’s Scholars program strives to enhance Kentucky’s next generation of civic and economic leaders and to create models of educational excellence for teachers and students.  Students participate in a stimulating, five-week, residential summer program.  The campuses for 2009 are Bellarmine University in Louisville, Centre College in Danville, and Morehead State University in Morehead.  Governor’s Scholars live in college dormitories.  They balance a busy academic schedule in the classroom with a variety of co-curricular activities and a rich residential life.  Noted scientists, writers, thinkers, and business, government and educational leaders visit, speak and serve as role models.  Student productions, publications, research experiments and field trips enhance the curriculum. Established in 1983, the popular program provides academic and personal growth in a challenging, non-traditional experience that balances a strong liberal arts program with a full co-curricular and residential life experience.

Another benefit of selection to the Governor’s Scholars Program is that many colleges and universities from across the state offer scholarships to those students who complete the five-week summer program.  These scholarships are for varied amounts and may require a certain grade point average or test score for eligibility. 

SCHS is fortunate to have these students selected for this program again this year.  Taylor, Kevin and Alex are outstanding representatives, not only for our school but for our community as well.  As shown through their excellent applications these students are our future and we congratulate them on their hard work, determination and academic achievement.