Governor's Scholars

-A A +A
By The Staff

Spencer County High School has announced the names of six students who have been selected as candidates to participate in the Governor’s Scholars’ summer program for 2010. 

The selected students are Steven Barlow, son of Steven and Michele Barlow; Ryan Conard, son of Craig and Stacy Conard;  Arden Cooper, daughter of Dan and Terri Cooper; Arden Gregory, daughter of Ron and Amy Gregory; Alison McGaughey, daughter of Ronnie and Tanya K. McGaughey; and Chase Thomas, son of Kevin and Diana Thomas.  

These students have been nominated by SCHS after a very competitive process at the school level.  Their applications have been sent to compete with top students from across the state. 

The Governor’s Scholars Program strives to enhance Kentucky’s next generation of civic and economic leaders and to create models of educational excellence for teachers and students.  Students participate in a stimulating, five-week, residential summer program.  Governor’s Scholars balance a busy academic schedule in the classroom with a variety of co-curricular activities, along with a rich residential life. 

SCHS had three students chosen in 2009.  The 2010 Governor’s Scholars will be announced in April.