Karrer announces he will not seek re-election

-A A +A

List of candidates for May 2014 primary grows

By Shannon Brock

As more names are filed to run for office in the 2014 primary election, one name is noticeably absent — current Judge-Executive Bill Karrer.

Karrer announced his decision not to seek re-election last week at the county’s employee holiday dinner, and Karrer confirmed to The Spencer Magnet on Monday night that he will not run in 2014.
Asked for the thoughts behind his decision, Karrer said he is ready to retire.
“Can you spell retirement?” Karrer said. “I’ll be 62. I’m done.”
As of Monday, no Republican candidates had filed to run for the office of judge-executive. Two Democrats have filed thus far: Jerry Davis, a current magistrate, and Debbie Herndon, a current school board member.
Candidates have until Jan. 28 to file to run in the May 2014 primary.
Outside of the race for judge-executive, several other candidates have filed in recent weeks, all on the Democrat side.
Larry Wilder has filed to run for magistrate in the Campbranch district.
Sue Todd will run for magistrate in the Waterford district.
David Goodlett will seek re-election in the Mount Eden/Little Mount district.
Robert Akridge will seek re-election to the office of constable.
In the race for 14th district state senator, Jimmy Higdon, an incumbent Republican from Lebanon, filed to seek re-election. This election marks the first time Spencer County is part of the 14th district.
In congressional races, Thomas Massie, an incumbent Republican, filed to seek re-election the fourth congressional district and Brett Guthrie, also an incumbent Republican, will seek re-election in the second congressional district.
A comprehensive list of those who’ve filed to run for local office is as follows:


Jerry Davis (D)

Debbie Herndon (D)


Steve Coulter (D)

Donald “Buddy” Stump (R)

Bobby J. Whitely (R)

County Clerk

Lynn Hesselbrock (R)

Michelle Housley (D)

County Attorney

Ruth Hollan (D)


Darrell Herndon (D)

Kim Stump (D)


Garland Armstrong (D)


Mike Moody (R)


Hobert Judd (R)
Sue Todd (D)

Magistrate-Elk Creek

Darrell Stevens (D)

Larry Wilder (D)

Magistrate-Mount Eden/Little Mount
David Goodlett (D)


Danny Hilbert (D)

Robert Akridge (D)

53rd District State Representative

Donna Crain Drury, Anderson County (D)

Kent Stevens, Anderson County (D)

James Allen Tipton, Spencer County (R)

14th District State Senator
Jimmy Higdon (R)

District Judge-53rd circuit, first division (nonpartisan)

Linda S. Armstrong, Shelbyville

District Judge-53rd circuit, second division (nonpartisan)

Donna Dutton, Shelbyville

Circuit Court Judge (nonpartisan)

Charles R. Hickman, Shelbyville

Family Court Judge (nonpartisan)

John David Myles, Simpsonville

S. Marie Hellard, Lawrenceburg

Susan M. Meschier, Shelbyville

U.S. Representative-Second District
Brett Guthrie (R)

U.S. Representative-Fourth District
Thomas Massie (R)

As the election season progresses, The Spencer Magnet will present articles on each of the races and candidates who will be on the primary election ballot in May 2014. The Magnet will also present periodic updates on candidate filings through the filing deadline of Jan. 28.