KY Women in Agriculture

-A A +A
By The Staff

 During their 9th Annual Meeting, the Kentucky Women in Agriculture (KWIA) elected officers and district delegates to their Board of Directors. 

Officers and delegates elected to serve 2009-2010 were President, Jenny Inman (Daviess County), Secretary, Sharon Furches (Calloway County), Reporter, Sandra Gardner (Anderson County), District 2 Delegate, Pam Pilgrim (Wolfe County), District 4 Delegate, Mattie Clay (Franklin County), and District 6 Delegate, Linda Dickerson (Warren County). 

Board members serve in staggered two-year terms.  Rounding out the full board, officers and delegates elected at last years conference were Vice-president,  Sara Williamson (Fayette County), Treasurer, Phyllis Amyx (Wolfe County), District 1 Delegate, Stephanie Young (Boyd County), District 3 Delegate, Michelle Armstrong, (Spencer County), District 5 Delegate, Sharon Denney (Wayne County), and District 7 Delegate, Becky Hicks (Caldwell County). 

Other features of the KWIA Annual Meeting included a keynote address from First Lady Jane Beshear, recognition of five-years of Incorporation for the organization, and the Taste of Kentucky Proud Reception.  

Kentucky women have been working to make a difference in agriculture for many years.  In 1999, the Kentucky Agricultural Women’s Leadership Network was established to enhance these efforts.  Since that time, the network has grown and evolved.  In July 2003, articles of incorporation and bylaws were filed with the Kentucky Secretary of State to launch a new, nonprofit organization  Kentucky Women in Agriculture, Inc. 

For more information or to join Kentucky Women in Agriculture, visit their Web site at www.kywomeninag.com, www.kywomeninag.com,  or contact by e-mail at info@kywomeninag.com or by phone at (877) 266-8823.