LETTER: Thanks for help with Light Up Salt River

-A A +A
By The Staff

I would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who was involved in the Light Up Salt River Festival.

First and foremost, I would like to recognize the committee members for all of their planning and hard work. They are Carolyn Shields, Kathy Spears, Janet Barnett, Donna Forg, Leigh Ann Stratton, Sharon Thomas, David and Kristen Martin, and Troy Klaber. Without our team work this wouldn’t happen every year.

Although the weather was inclimate this year, with out the cooperation from the following groups, this wouldn’t have been possible: Taylorsville-Spencer County Fire Department, Spencer County EMS, Taylorsville Police Department, Spencer County Sheriff’s Department, all of the Taylorsville Lake Corp of Engineers staff, especially Keith Richardson, Plum Creek Baptist Church, Mike Driscoll, Dwight Martin, David Goodlett, James Shields, all of the Tanglewood Golf Course staff, Big 3 Tractor, our local VFW post, Ronald and Joyce Waterfill, Thomas Schultz III (Little Sparky), Melrose Pyrotechnics, Chuck Forg, Kevin Stratton, Nathan Nation, and particularly all of our vendors.

Despite the rain, all of our musical performers showed up with their game faces on and they did not disappoint. They were Billy Curtsinger, Danielle Curtsinger, Megan Stout, Keith Thomas, Jerry Davis, and of course, Scarecrow. A special thank you goes out to Keith Thomas and Scarecrow for working together to make sure the sound system was up to par for all of our performers.

Last, but certainly not least, I would like to show my appreciation to WAMZ and Bobby Jack Murphy for supporting us, WHAS 11 news for the news spot on the July 3 newscast, the Spencer Magnet for working so well with us on advertising and the Taylorsville Spencer County Tourism committee for the $2000 they paid toward the fireworks.

I hope that those of you that attended this year were satisfied and I surely hope you will attend in 2010. Maybe mother nature will be on our side then.

Abbi Nation

2009 Light Up Salt River Chairman