Mayor Pay to seek re-election

-A A +A
By Robin Bass

Taylorsville Mayor Don Pay joined a long list of last-minute filers interested in participating in Spencer County’s fall election.

Pay said Monday that he decided to seek a second four-year term in office to continue the work that began during his administration.

“I think we have made some positive changes – changes that have really turned this city around,” said Pay. He pointed to the effort to rebuild the city street-by-street by resurfacing roads, adding landscaping and new street lights.“I’d like to continue to do that,” said Pay.

As for the future, Pay said he has several goals he would like to accomplish if re-elected. He wants to establish community watch groups in Pin Oak, Early Wyne, Highview Estates and downtown Taylorsville so that residents can help the effort to deter crime. Pay would also like to continue the effort to make users of motorized wheelchairs and scooters more visible to vehicular traffic. Lastly, he wants to see the expansion of the city’s wastewater treatment facility to its completion.

If there was anything that he would have done differently in the past four years, said Pay, it would have been to more aggressively pursue funding assistance to re-certify the levee and correct habitual flood areas.

As for his re-election bid, Pay said, “I don’t take anything for granted. Personal politics should not have any place in serving the people of Taylorsville. I’m hoping that the progress can be seen by all – that are headed in the right direction.”

If there was one aspect about his term as mayor that Pay hopes voters will remember, it is the he has “had the same commitment, dedication and determination to the city now that I had four years ago.”

Other last minute candidates for the nonpartisan offices were:

• Richard Travelstead, a private investigator, and Larry L. Waldridge, retired and former city commissioner, filed to run for one of the four Taylorsville City Commission seats.

Joining them will be current commissioners Kathy Spears, Beverly Bentley-Ingram and John “Jack” Proctor; Nathan Nation, fire chief, and and employment counselor Troy Klaber. Winners will be determined by the four highest vote-getters in November.

• N. Glen Goebel, a principal broker in real estate, and Robert L. Jones, a farmer, will be seeking the office of soil conservation supervisor. Lowry Brown has also filed.

• Joining incumbent Sandy Clevenger in the race for school board Mt. Eden/Little Mount District 5 will be John Shindlebower, associate director of communications at Sunrise Children’s Services and former editor of the Spencer Magnet.

• Jeanie Stevens, who works as a finance coordinator and currently serves as school board chairperson, will be seeking re-election in Taylorsville District 1. Stevens will be unopposed.

• Lawrence Tragesar, who filed his intent to run for office last spring, submitted paper work to run as a Tea Party candidate. Tragesar will be seeking the magistrate seat in Taylorsville District 1. He will be facing Democratic candidate Paul David Jewell and Republican candidate Mike Moody Nov. 2.