.....Advertisement.....
.....Advertisement.....

Muzzleloader Season

-A A +A
By The Staff

 Early muzzleloader season for deer sees one hunter harvest dinner in an unexpected fashion this weekend, October 25 and 26, on the “Kentucky Afield” television show.

Hunting deer the old-fashioned way – that is, with traditional flintlock firearms – is savored among many hunters. The effective range of a period muzzleloader is far shorter than with a modern rifle, plus you’ll only get to fire once. 

While the longer barrel of a rifle improves your chances, “Kentucky Afield” Host Tim Farmer chooses to take his shot with a flintlock pistol. Even for the nation’s oldest hunting show, the opportunity to showcase this seldom-seen style is a milestone. Follow Farmer into the fields of Nicholas County for an unusual hunt.

Also on the program, we wrap up our three-part series, “Deer Processing: >From the field to the freezer.”  In part III, Scott County butcher Sim Harp joins Farmer in the kitchen for cutting the venison into steaks, hams, roasts, and more before concluding with freezer-friendly packaging tips. DVR users take note: These are excerpts from the popular DVD normally sold on the program’s Web site.

 “Kentucky Afield” is a production of the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources. It is the longest continuously-running outdoor television show in the nation. The program airs Saturday at 8:30 p.m. Eastern /7:30 p.m. Central and is repeated Sunday at 4 p.m. Eastern/3 p.m. Central on KET 1. 

To see the latest news about “Kentucky Afield” television and view your favorite show segments from the past, sign up today for the electronic newsletter. Visit fw.ky.gov on the Internet, and then click onto the Kentucky Afield Newsletter icon at the bottom of the page.