Redistricting bill shakes things up in Spencer

-A A +A
By Shannon Brock

Kentucky’s general assembly passed a new redistricting bill in special session last week and Spencer County’s representation has been shaken up, again.


In the past several years, Spencer County has been split into three House districts — the 50th, the 55th and the 58th.
Until last week, the county was represented by David Floyd, Kim King and Brad Montell, but with the new plan, which was immediately signed into law by Gov. Steve Beshear, Spencer County will become a part of the 53rd district.
That district will now include all of Spencer County, all of Anderson County and two precincts in Bullitt County.
Rep. Bart Rowland of Tompkinsville in Monroe County is currently the representative for the 53rd district and will represent the interests of the new district until a representative from the new district can be elected in 2014.
However, in a column from Rep. Kim King provided to The Spencer Magnet, King said she will still be a voice for Spencer County.
“I know many of you are confused about who will be serving you in Frankfort until that time, and as I’ve told the local media I will continue to serve my new and former counties until someone is elected to serve the new district next November,” King said.
For many years, Spencer County has been a part of the 20th senatorial district, but under the recently passed plan, Spencer will move into the 14th district.
Sen. Paul Hornback of Shelbyville has represented Spencer County since 2011, but until the election is held next year, Spencer will fall under Sen. Jimmy Higdon’s district.
Higdon is from Lebanon in Marion County and has served in the Senate since 2009. He was a representative in the House from 2003 to 2009.
The new 14th senatorial district is made up of Spencer, Nelson, Marion and Casey counties and part of Jefferson County.

North Campbranch voting precincts affected
Because Spencer County is no longer divided three ways, the county’s voting precincts can and will be adjusted.
The Spencer County Board of Elections met with a representative from KIPDA on Monday morning to see what adjustments needed to be made.
During the last go-round of redistricting, the board was faced with making precincts that matched up not only with the three-way state representative split, but also — and for the first time — a two-way U.S. representative split.
The county remains split with Rep. Thomas Massie representing the 4th district and Rep. Brett Guthrie representing the 2nd district.
However, even with those districts still in tact, the board will be able to decrease the number of precincts in North Campbranch from six to four.
No other precincts will be affected.
Precincts previously known as North Campbranch 9A and 9C will merge to create a new 9A.
Precincts previously known as North Campbranch 9E and 9F will merge to create a new 9C.
All of these precincts, as well as North Campbranch 9B and 9D (which are unchanged), will vote at the fire house on Water Street in Taylorsville.