Spencer County FFA named National Model of Excellence Chapter

-A A +A

Group earns many team, individual awards

Kentucky and Spencer County FFA were well represented at the 85th Annual National FFA Convention, which was held October 24-27 in Indianapolis. An all-time record of 56,107 FFA members from across the United States attended the Convention, which is the largest youth organization gathering in the United States.

Spencer County FFA won the distinction of being named the first ever National Model of Excellence Chapter. This prestigious award was established this year to recognize the top chapter in the nation. Spencer County has a long history of excellence in all areas of agricultural education including classroom instruction, FFA, and Supervised Agricultural Experience. Chapter advisers are Bland Baird and Darryl Matherly.
Zachary Cotton of the Spencer County FFA was named one of four National Finalists for the American Star In Agribusiness Award. The Star Awards are based on a student’s progress in developing their Supervised Agricultural Experience Program, FFA accomplishments, record of scholarship, and community involvement and are the highest awards given by the National FFA Organization.
Three Kentucky FFA members, two of which are from Spencer County, were named as National Proficiency Winners.
Susan Mann of Spencer County FFA was named the National Winner in Food Science and Technology.
Gabe Stodghill of Spencer County FFA was named the National Winner in Outdoor Recreation.
Eight other Kentucky FFA members, seven of which are from Spencer County, were named as one of four national finalists in their respective proficiency award areas:
Morgan Mayer – Spencer County – Ag Communication
Ethan Cotton – Spencer County – Ag Mechanics Energy Systems
Shane Greenwell – Spencer County – Ag Sales Entrepreneurship
Kristy Glasscock – Spencer County – Ag Sales Placement
Matthew Rechtenwald – Spencer County – Diversified Crop Production Placement
Cody Milburn – Spencer County – Landscape Management
Danielle Montgomery – Spencer County – Swine Production Placement
Proficiency awards are based on a written application detailing the student’s accomplishments and learning related to his or her Supervised Agricultural Experience Program. National Finalists complete an in depth interview with industry leaders as part of the selection process.
Several Kentucky Career Development Teams placed in the top ten nationally:
Spencer County FFA placed third in the Agronomy Career Development Event. Team members were Jacob Barnett, Daniel Cooper, James Nichols, and Rachel Sibert.
Spencer County FFA placed third in the Farm Business Management Career Development Event. Team members were Tyler Goodlett, Brian Jones, Andrew Krueger, and Shelby West.
Spencer County FFA placed fifth in the Dairy Evaluation Career Development Event. Team members were Shane Greenwell, Bryce Martin, Ashley Mckinney, and Cecilia Petersen.

Other Spencer County teams competing in National Career Development Events included:
Food Science, Bronze
Meats Evaluation, Silver
Nursery and Landscape, Bronze

Fifteen Kentucky FFA chapters were recognized in the National Chapter Contest. Caldwell County, Fleming County, Henry County, LaRue County, Marion County, Rockcastle County, Scott County, Spencer County, and Warren Central were recognized as National Three Star Chapters. Bourbon County, Boyle County, John Hardin, South Warren, and Western Hills were recognized as National Two Star Chapters and Meade County was recognized as a National One Star Chapter. Spencer County FFA was also recognized as a National Model of Innovation Finalist.