Spencer Middle students participate in Morehead State honors band

-A A +A

Submitted to the Spencer Magnet

On Nov. 19, several students from the band program at Spencer County Middle School traveled to Morehead State University to participate in the ninth-annual Tri-State Honors Band. For the ninth year in a row, the Morehead State University’s Department of Music has hosted a middle school honors band that encourages band programs from West Virginia, Ohio, and Kentucky to send their top students to a day of rehearsal and then a performance that night. Overall, there are six bands with full instrumentation and more than 600 students participated that day.

Spencer County band students were able to meet and rehearse with other musicians and learn from other band directors. Among the directors that day were David Fuller from Campbell County Middle School, Jack Walker, a retired music educator from London, Ky., and Stacey Larson, Assistant Director of Bands at VanderCook College of Music in Chicago, Ill. Students were selected for Tri-State Honor Band by their band directors, then chosen by MSU according to needs for different instruments. SCMS had two students selected for the top honors band who were chosen by an audition: Makala Hatzman and Autumn Wilson. Taylor Stampfer, the band director at SCMS said, “I was proud to have so many students selected for the experience. It was a great learning opportunity and our students represented the district well.”
The SCMS students who participated were Josh Baunach — percussion, Kyra Christie — flute, Jalei Cox — oboe, Austin Cunningham — trumpet, Dalton Davis — trumpet, Chris Douglas — Baritone Saxophone, Shanaia Figueroa — trumpet, Kate Griffin — clarinet, Lillian Hanik — baritone, Makala Hatzman — flute, Georgi Herndon — flute, Halee Hood — clarinet, Tamara Humphrey — flute, Chaz Kehrli — clarinet, Maddy Keown — clarinet, Victoria McDonald — bass clarinet, Patrick Rood — clarinet, Emily Skibinski — clarinet, Savannah Taylor — tuba, Tamara Thompson — flute, Liz Walker — french horn, Zachary Walker — trumpet, Dustin Westphal — trumpet, and Autumn Wilson — flute.