• Shawver to attend Naval Academy

    Spencer County High School senior Christina Shawver has received an Offer of Appointment to the United States Naval Academy in Annapolis, Md.

  • PHOTO: SCMS names December, January Grizzly Heroes

    The following students were selected as December and January Grizzly Heroes at Spencer County Middle School: Katie Wilburn, Bailey Ethington, Robert Howell, Shelby Matthews, Ashley Brown, Jonathon Milby, Jacob Coke, Marissa Priddy, Dustin Chesser, Dylan Stone, Jordan Bartman, Mason Cooper, Makenna Cox, Mailelani Rogers, Luke Hardin, Kyle Brian, Daniel Wakefield, Baylie Cranmer, Zack Matherly, Dylan Brooks, Jack Pence, Kevin Underwood, Michael Thompson, Zack Coke and Kris Nolen.

  • Hands-on learning at Spencer Elementary

    As Spencer County Elementary fourth grade teacher Stephanie Sanford’s students entered the classroom on Feb. 17, they read from their agenda, “I can be a paleontologist for the day.  How hard could it be?”

  • The Far Middle: Feb. 22
  • PHOTO: January Students of the Month at TES

    Pictured are the Taylorsville Elementary School students who were recently named the January students of the month. Those receiving the honor were Haley Wohner, Dylan Galeoti (not pictured), Alyssa Hitch, Michael Nation, Tavin Hodgens, and Lindsey Bush.

  • TES kindergarten registration March 5-9

    Taylorsville Elementary kindergarten registration will be March 5–9 from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
    Evening registration will be on March 6 until 7 p.m.
    Bring the following to registration:
    • Proof of age (state-issued birth certificate)
    • Proof of residency (current lease or utility bill)
    • A copy of the student’s Social Security card
    • An immunization certificate (original and up-to-date)
    • A physical examination form (physical completed no more than one year prior to entrance)

  • Georgetown College releases its fall dean’s list

    The following students have been named to the dean’s list at Georgetown College for the 2011 fall semester.
    The dean’s list honors undergraduate students who completed the semester with at least 12 credit hours and a 3.7 GPA, according to Dr. Rosemary Allen, provost/academic dean.
    •Allyson Patricia Wilbourn, of Fisherville, the daughter of R. Michael and Lynda Wilbourn of Fisherville.
    •Jessica L. Flores, of Taylorsville, the daughter of Robert and Vicki Flores of Taylorsville.

  • The Far Middle: Feb. 15
  • Spencer Elementary to have kindergarten registration March 5-9

    Spencer County Elementary kindergarten registration will be held March 5–9 from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. This registration is for children who will be 5 years old by Oct. 1, 2012 and are not currently enrolled in Spencer County Preschool. To be fully enrolled the following must be on file:

    • Proof of residency
    • A copy of the original birth certificate
    (not a hospital certificate)
    • A copy of the student’s Social Security
    • A current immunization certificate

  • Bellarmine announces dean’s list

    Bellarmine University recently announced the students named to its dean’s list for the fall 2011 semester. The dean’s list recognizes students who receive a grade point average of 3.5 or above on a 4.0 scale. The following local residents were named to the dean’s list:
    Fisherville resident Leah Spears, a sophomore majoring in psychology, and a graduate of Spencer County High School;
    Fisherville resident Sophia Kroon, a senior majoring in communication;