• Six earn academic honors at WKU

    The following Western Kentucky University students from Spencer County were named to the dean’s and president’s lists for the spring 2013 semester:
    Steven K. Barlow of Mount Eden
    Kayla M. Perkins of Taylorsville
    Allison J. Beeson of Taylorsville
    Chase A. Thomas of Taylorsville
    Adrian C. Gregory of Taylorsville
    Tara B. Sorrells of Taylorsville

  • Two named to dean's list at Georgetown College

    These local students made the dean’s list for spring 2013 at Georgetown College:
    Joseph Matthew Snider of Taylorsville
    Allyson Patricia Wilbourn of Fisherville
    The dean’s list honors undergraduate students who completed the semester with at least 12 credit hours and a 3.7 GPA, according to Rosemary Allen, Ph.D., Georgetown College’s Provost and Academic Dean.

  • Middle and high schoolers present ‘Scooby-Doo and the Theater Ghost’
  • Keeling earns MBA from McKendree University

    Darrell S. Keeling, of Taylorsville, earned a master’s of business administration from McKendree University.
    Commencement exercises were held June 8 at the Souther Baptist Theological Seminary.

  • PHOTO: Haun presented with Global Awareness Award
  • PHOTO: Black earns degree from Morehead

    Catherine Taylor Black graduated from Morehead State University with a Bachelor of Arts degree in English on May 11, 2013.

  • Bellarmine announces spring dean’s list

    Bellarmine University has named students to its dean’s list for the spring 2013 semester.
    The dean’s list recognizes students who receive a grade point average of 3.5 or above on a 4.0 scale. The following local residents were named to the dean’s list:
    Taylorsville resident Gabrielle Adams, a freshman who is majoring in elementary education, and previously attended Bethlehem High School.
    Taylorsville resident Victoria Kute, a junior who is majoring in exercise science, and previously attended Bullitt East High School.

  • Knapper earns president’s list honors

    Gregory Knapper of Taylorsville, was named to the Advantage president’s list. To earn this honor, students must maintain a 4.0 grade point average.
    Advantage is an accelerated degree completion program. Adults 24 and above with two years of college can earn the last half of their bachelor’s degrees by attending class one night per week for 18 months of instruction.

  • St. Catherine College announces spring dean’s list

    St. Catherine College recently announced the list of students who have achieved extraordinary academic success for the spring 2013 semester.
    The dean’s list includes all students who had a grade point average of 3.6 - 3.999.
    The following students from Spencer County were recognized for their academic achievement: Khamsing Kosanouvong and Josh Whitmer.
    The president’s list includes all students who completed 12 college-level credit hours and maintained a perfect 4.0 grade point average.

  • Britton earns academic honors

    Kathryn Britton of Taylorsville has been named to the Spring 2013 Academic Achievement Award list at Central Methodist University, according to Dr. Rita Gulstad, vice president and dean of the University.
    Britton achieved a perfect 4.0 grade point average for the semester as a full-time student at CMU. Academic Achievement Award students at CMU also must possess at least a 3.50 cumulative GPA at the University.