Today's News

  • Abell leaves TES to be district assistant superintendent

    Taylorsville Elementary School will lose Chuck Abell as its principal July 1, but he isn’t going far. Abell will still be within the Taylorsville city limits just across town at the Spencer County Board of Education, where he will serve as the district’s new assistant superintendent.

  • School board will not fill vacated transportation director’s position

    The Spencer County Schools transportation director position will be vacant at the end of the month, but will not be filled to help curb spending not directly associated with student instruction.

  • PHOTO: Haun presented with Global Awareness Award
  • PHOTO: Black earns degree from Morehead

    Catherine Taylor Black graduated from Morehead State University with a Bachelor of Arts degree in English on May 11, 2013.

  • Bellarmine announces spring dean’s list

    Bellarmine University has named students to its dean’s list for the spring 2013 semester.
    The dean’s list recognizes students who receive a grade point average of 3.5 or above on a 4.0 scale. The following local residents were named to the dean’s list:
    Taylorsville resident Gabrielle Adams, a freshman who is majoring in elementary education, and previously attended Bethlehem High School.
    Taylorsville resident Victoria Kute, a junior who is majoring in exercise science, and previously attended Bullitt East High School.

  • Knapper earns president’s list honors

    Gregory Knapper of Taylorsville, was named to the Advantage president’s list. To earn this honor, students must maintain a 4.0 grade point average.
    Advantage is an accelerated degree completion program. Adults 24 and above with two years of college can earn the last half of their bachelor’s degrees by attending class one night per week for 18 months of instruction.

  • St. Catherine College announces spring dean’s list

    St. Catherine College recently announced the list of students who have achieved extraordinary academic success for the spring 2013 semester.
    The dean’s list includes all students who had a grade point average of 3.6 - 3.999.
    The following students from Spencer County were recognized for their academic achievement: Khamsing Kosanouvong and Josh Whitmer.
    The president’s list includes all students who completed 12 college-level credit hours and maintained a perfect 4.0 grade point average.

  • Britton earns academic honors

    Kathryn Britton of Taylorsville has been named to the Spring 2013 Academic Achievement Award list at Central Methodist University, according to Dr. Rita Gulstad, vice president and dean of the University.
    Britton achieved a perfect 4.0 grade point average for the semester as a full-time student at CMU. Academic Achievement Award students at CMU also must possess at least a 3.50 cumulative GPA at the University.

  • Hall graduates as valedictorian of Whitefield Academy

    Logan Walker Hall graduated from Whitefield Academy on May 24. He graduated with a 4.0 grade point average and was the class valedictorian. Logan was a member of the Whitefield baseball team and was the recipient of the 2013 Male Scholar Athlete Award. In addition, he received the James E. Casey Scholarship Award. He has decided to pursue a degree in computer engineering in the fall. Logan is a lifelong resident of Spencer County and the son of Darrell and Barbara Hall and the grandson of G.W. and the late Corinne Washburn and Mary Lou and the late Eugene Hall of Taylorsville.

  • Jordan Hall earns two BAs from Butler