Today's News

  • Public Record: District Court Jan. 25

    The following cases were heard in Spencer District Court on Jan. 25, 2013, by Judge David Hayse:

    Justin M. Back (1984), failure to wear seat belts, guilty, $25 fine to be paid in installments/deferred payment.

    Justin M. Back (1984), speeding 16 miles over the legal limit, amended to speeding 15 miles over the legal limit, guilty, $30 fine and court costs to be paid in installments/deferred payment; failure to wear seat belts, guilty, $25 fine.

  • Taylorsville Police Citations: Feb. 6 edition

    The Taylorsville Police Department issued the following citations Feb. 1-4:

    Nicholas J. Paddock, 24, of Morrison Avenue in Louisville, was arrested Feb. 1 on a bench warrant for failure of owner to maintain required insurance, first offense, from Jefferson County.

    Thomas L. Sego, 29, of 600 block Little Elk Road in Mount Eden, was cited Feb. 1 for no registration plates and no registration receipt.

    Timothy D. Terrell, 39, of Cornishville Road in Harrodsburg, was cited Feb. 2 for no registration plates and no registration receipt.

  • Public Record: Property transfers from December 2012 (part 2)

    The following property transfers were recently recorded in the Spencer County Clerk’s Office:

    On Dec. 29, 2012, Raymond E. Higgs and Margarita Nancy Higgs, 654 Burgin Noel Road in Bloomfield, to Raymond E. Higgs and Margarita Nancy Higgs, 654 Burgin Noel Road in Bloomfield, tract number 5 and tract number 4 of the James Edward Noel Jr. agricultural division, as described in deed book 250, page 458, $188,000 fair cash value.

  • BBB: Don't fall for 'free' airline ticket scam

    The Better Business Bureau is warning citizens not to fall for a scam claiming they are the recipient of free airline tickets.

    "Consumers across the country are receiving mailings indicating that they have won two round-trip tickets from US Airlines. Another similar letter indicates that one can redeem a travel voucher for two round-trip, airline tickets," according to a news release from the BBB. "This letter also contains what appears to be a check but says 'Must Be Redeemed for travel certificate,' near the bottom."

  • SCMS academic team takes 2nd at district

    The Spencer County Middle School Academic Team recently participated in the Sixth Grade Showcase and the Governor’s Cup District competitions. The following are the results:
    Sixth Grade Showcase - Dec. 1, 2012
    Overall - 1st place
    Quick Recall - 1st place
    Language Arts:
    Jeremiah Potter - 3rd place
    Cody Robinson - 1st place
    Seth Baunach  - 3rd place
    Cody Robinson - 1st place
    Gabriel Whitlock - 4th place
    Social Studies

  • Lewis-Brown earns MSLS degree at Clarion

    Lisa Lewis-Brown of Mount Eden received a MSLS degree in library science during commencement ceremonies Dec. 15 at Clarion University.
    Clarion University is the high-achieving, nationally recognized, comprehensive university that delivers a personal and challenging academic experience.

  • Two named to Georgetown College dean’s list

    Two local students made the dean’s list for fall 2012 at Georgetown College.
    The dean’s list honors undergraduate students who completed the semester with at least 12 credit hours and a 3.7 GPA, according to Rosemary Allen, Ph.D., Georgetown College’s provost and academic dean.
    Those students are:
    Elizabeth B. Feldpausch of Fisherville.
    Joseph Matthew Snider of Taylorsville.

  • OCTC announces fall 2012 dean’s list

    The following Spencer County natives were named to the fall dean’s list at Owensboro Community and Technical College:
    Jessica Renee Collins
    Joseph Allen Conner
    Anthony J. Criss
    Allison Kate Hayse
    McKenzie L. Schulte
    Natalie Renee Sickbert
    Michele Rene Winstead
    A full-time student earning at least a 3.5 GPA and successfully completing 12 hours or more of course work numbered 100 or above for the academic term shall be included in the full-time student dean’s list.

  • Taylorsville Elementary School announces honor roll for second nine weeks

    Taylorsville Elementary School recently released its honor roll for the second nine weeks.

    Principals Honor Roll
    All “A”

    Ms. Buynak
    Alexis Biller, Kerrigan Catlett, Bonnie Hou, Addison Raque, Cameron Smith, Carmelo Spencer, Kaydence Tipton, Hayley Wethington.

    Ms. Catlett
    Tristen Cook, Alyssa Hitch, Lillian Husband, Jayden Tomes, Kristian Tucker, Kelsey VanKannel.

    Ms. Martin
    Issac Bruck, Jeremiah Knight, Kaelin Koppel, Emily Roberts, Lily Smith.

  • TES names students with perfect attendance for December

    Taylorsville Elementary School recently released the names of its students who had perfect attendance in December.

    Perfect Attendance
    December 2012

    Ms. Hickerson
    Dalton Clark, Casey DeSilvey, Mason Grubb, Kaydee Horner, Brittany Nethery.

    Ms. Pence
    Savannah Baldwin, Jakahri Brown, Lillian Chesnut, Jaxen Coulter, James Gilbert, Ayvah Hall, Kasey Moffett, Jenna Moore, Gracie Searcy, Leland Smearcheck, Alexandrea Thompson.

    Ms. Sztanya