Today's News

  • COLUMN: Water customers deserved more thought from city

    What’s the old saying? Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me.
    Well, shame on me.
    When the Taylorsville City Commission decided last week to postpone its first reading of the 2012-2013 budget so that commissioners could look into some of the matters brought up as a result of a public hearing last week, I think many attending that meeting felt a slight glimmer of hope.
    You can count me in that group.

  • PHOTO: Learning about animals with ‘Amazon John’

    ‘Amazon John’ brought several animals, including a fox, tortoise, owl, python, rabbit, frog and toad to the Spencer County Public Library to introduce children to nocturnal animals. This event was the kickoff for the library’s summer reading program. Above ‘Amazon John’ shows the children a python, and talks about snakes’ eating habits.

  • Students earn honors, degrees at EKU

    Conard named to dean’s list at EKU
    Ryan Steven Conard of Taylorsville, a sophomore studying biology/pre-medical science, was named to the dean’s list at Eastern Kentucky University for the spring 2012 semester.
    To achieve dean’s list honors at Eastern, students attempting 14 or more credit hours must earn a 3.5 grade point average out of a possible 4.0. Students attempting 13 credit hours must earn a 3.65 GPA, and students attempting 12 credit hours must earn a 3.75 GPA.

  • Smith graduates from McKendree

    Graduates of McKendree University’s Louisville and Radcliff campuses received their diplomas at commencement exercises on June 9 at the Highview Baptist Church East Campus.
    Heather N. Smith, of Taylorsville, earned a Bachelor of Science of Nursing.

  • Two earn honors at Campbellsville University

    Campbellsville University Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Frank Cheatham has announced the academic honors list for the spring 2012 semester.

  • Four earn scholarships from EKU

    Several local students are among those recently accepting merit-based scholarships to attend Eastern Kentucky University.
    Recipients of those scholarships include:
    · Claire Johnson, Taylorsville, Spencer County High School, Dr. Rodney Gross Minority Scholarship
    · Rachel Keys, Taylorsville, Spencer County High School, Presidential Scholarship
    · Amanda Kute, Taylorsville, Bullitt East High School, Presidential Scholarship
    · Corey Williams, Taylorsville, transfer student, Maroon Scholarship

  • PHOTO: SCHS says goodbye to Pablo

  • PHOTO: Bleemel earns BSN from Spalding

    Joni Marie Bleemel graduated from Spalding University on June 2 with a Bachelor of Science of Nursing. She graduated with nursing honors and was inducted into the Sigma Theta Tau International. She is a daughter of Dennis and Kim Bleemel, and her grandparents are Carmel Bleemel of Mount Washington, Nita Bolin of Taylorsville and Eddie Bowles of Fisherville. Joni is a 2008 graduate of Spencer County High School.

  • COLUMN: Main Street is a treasure of Taylorsville

    One of the great treasures of Spencer County is the historic Main Street of Taylorsville.  Whether you were privileged to grow up and spend all your life in this community or whether your came from elsewhere and “adopted” this area, you can’t help but love the history and beauty of this almost stereotypical American small town.

  • City goes against county, passes zoning repeal

    The Taylorsville City Commission voted last Tuesday to repeal its agricultural, residential, commercial and industrial zoning classifications — the same classifications the Spencer County Fiscal Court first voted to repeal, then voted to keep intact.
    The city’s repeal of the classifications, which had been in place since 2010, passed by a vote of 3-1. Commissioner Beverly Ingram voted no; Mayor Don Pay was absent from the meeting.